I'm back! It was a good thing to have a short holiday from this blog and now I have so much to write and (as always) so much to read. I visited Finland (very briefly, I'm so sorry I didn't have time to meet all my friends!) and I bought so many books that I now know I will survive through the long cold winter here in Oslo. I also found three Bookcrossing-books and released myself five.

I bought around 30 books to myself and almost as many to my daughter. Yes, on my way back my bag was quite heavy... To myself I bought many Nobel-books and some new books from Finnish authors. My daughter got many "Puppe" ("Spot") -books, "Myyrä" ("Krtek") -books, more Kirsi Kunnas and many books about her favourite animal "ankka" (=duck). She can't talk that much yet, but one word she can say is "ankka" and she just loves to read books with pictures of ducks because then she can also take part to reading and tell me where the duck is. In Finland she also learned to say "kukka"(=flower) except she says it every time "kakku"(=cake). Well, at least she has all the right letters, just vocals has changed place.

She has also started to read to herself nowadays. She takes a book, sits down, puts her pacifier away and starts to read aloud with her own baby-language. It's so cute!

I just read from one of my books that in the old days people always read aloud. It's actually a very new thing to go away and read quietly by yourself. Through the history people have usually read together aloud. Just like me and my daughter still do. One day she will learn to read by herself but now we can still sit together and read many good stories about ducks. Because that's what we both like best.