I have often wondered why there are never any pictures in adult's books. As I told you I love Peter Greenaway's way to mix all the different art forms into his movies and I don't understand why that couldn't be done also in books. I don't mean that I need pictures of novel's characters or pictures where someone has drawn same things that has been written on the next page. I do have my own imagination. But there could be books from whose pages you could find not just words but also different art pictures. (And no, I don't mean "Da Vinci Code" with pictures from da Vinci...)

Why couldn't writers co-operate more with photographers or visual artists? I know that there are some books like that already (like Anja Snellman and Ulla Jokisalo's book "Side") but not nearly enough. And I'm sure everyone of us remember how we loved pictures in children's books when we were young. I could still love them.

Because of all this I have now put my first picture to this blog!

It's picture from Maurice Sendak's book "Where the Wild Things Are" ("Hassut hurjat hirviöt"). It's a great book! I remember how my sister loved that book when she was young. She was so scared of those monsters but she just had to read it again and again. When we had read it she was white and her eyes were huge and she was kind of shaking. She was sitting silently for a while and then she whispered "Could you read it once again, please?"

I remembered this when I gave that book to my lovely friend's even lovelier daughter when she turned three years old. Her birthday party was on this beautiful summer day. I was sitting in my friend's garden and I had ten children around me listening when I read to them about those "wild things". They were so silent and so scared and when I finished they wishpered "once again, please?" I hope that no one was traumatized. That was not my intention. I just think you have to have possibility to be safely scared when you are young. Sitting in someone's lap and read a story about funny monsters.

I have heard that Spike Jonze is also making movie from that book. I really hope it will be good one, he's a great director.