Just wanted to let you know that I still love my dear old Agathe Christie! After reading many boring present crime novels I had to turn to my old love to make sure that it’s still worth of reading crime fiction. ”At Bertram’s Hotel tells a story about an old-fashioned hotel in London. A hotel where you can travel back to the history, to the time when staying in hotel was an experience itself. Agatha Christie was known to be nostalgic, but in this book she wants us to learn that it’s not wise to trust something only because it makes you feel comfortable and cosy. Being old doesn’t make it safe. This respectable hotel is definitely not what it looks like… 

But luckily we have our dear old friend who is wise enough to see warning sings where others don’t.

 

“The trouble is that everyone who’s had anything to do with this girl has been far too nice – if you get my meaning. Too many nice people who don’t know anything about evil. Not like my old lady.”

“The Bertram Hotel one?”

“Yes, that’s the one. She’s had a long life of experience in noticing evil, fancying evil, suspecting evil and going forth to do battle with evil. “

 

Yes, we all love her, Miss Marple.