Couple of weeks ago I went to theatre with my friends. (Those same ones who like to read bad litterature for teenagers...) We went to Ryhmäteatteri to see "Hyvin päättyy kaikki". I remember some years ago we went to see "Helluntaisaatto" at the same place and I cried like crazy. This time I didn't cry that much but I did laugh. Great play. I didn't like that much of Krista Kosonen but Ville Virtanen and Antti Virmavirta were really great! They were these two homeless alcoholic who had interesting conversations about life and universe.

The play was a little bit like Samuel Beckett's "Waiting for Godot" ("En attendant Godot", "Huomenna hän tulee") which I have seen couple of times and which I really like. Here you can find some more information of that play. I haven't read that much reviews or analyses about that play, I just like it without understanding anything...



VLADIMIR:
You must be happy too, deep down, if you only knew it.
ESTRAGON:
Happy about what?
VLADIMIR:
To be back with me again.
ESTRAGON:
Would you say so?
VLADIMIR:
Say you are, even if it's not true.
ESTRAGON:
What am I to say?
VLADIMIR:
Say, I am happy.
ESTRAGON:
I am happy.
VLADIMIR:
So am I.
ESTRAGON:
So am I.
VLADIMIR:
We are happy.
ESTRAGON:
We are happy. (Silence.) What do we do now, now that we are happy?
VLADIMIR:
Wait for Godot. (Estragon groans. Silence.) Things have changed here since yesterday.
ESTRAGON:
And if he doesn't come?
VLADIMIR:
(after a moment of bewilderment). We'll see when the time comes. (Pause.) I was saying that things have changed here since yesterday.
ESTRAGON:
Everything oozes.
VLADIMIR:
Look at the tree.
ESTRAGON:
It's never the same pus from one second to the next.
VLADIMIR:
The tree, look at the tree.
Estragon looks at the tree.

ESTRAGON:
Was is not there yesterday?
VLADIMIR:
Yes of course it was there. Do you not remember? We nearly hanged ourselves from it. But you wouldn't. Do you not remember?
ESTRAGON:
You dreamt it.
VLADIMIR:
Is it possible you've forgotten already?
ESTRAGON:
That's the way I am. Either I forget immediately or I never forget.

...

VLADIMIR:You're a hard man to get on with, Gogo.
ESTRAGON:It'd be better if we parted.
VLADIMIR:You always say that and you always come crawling back.
ESTRAGON:The best thing would be to kill me, like the other.
VLADIMIR:What other? (Pause.) What other?
ESTRAGON:Like billions of others.
VLADIMIR:(sententious). To every man his little cross. (He sighs.) Till he dies. (Afterthought.) And is forgotten.
ESTRAGON:In the meantime let us try and converse calmly, since we are incapable of keeping silent.
VLADIMIR:You're right, we're inexhaustible.
ESTRAGON:It's so we won't think.
VLADIMIR:We have that excuse.
ESTRAGON:It's so we won't hear.
VLADIMIR:We have our reasons.
ESTRAGON:All the dead voices.
VLADIMIR:They make a noise like wings.
ESTRAGON:Like leaves.
VLADIMIR:Like sand.
ESTRAGON:Like leaves.
Silence.
VLADIMIR:They all speak at once.
ESTRAGON:Each one to itself.
Silence.
VLADIMIR:Rather they whisper.
ESTRAGON:They rustle.
VLADIMIR:They murmur.
ESTRAGON:They rustle.
Silence.
VLADIMIR:What do they say?
ESTRAGON:They talk about their lives.
VLADIMIR:To have lived is not enough for them.
ESTRAGON:They have to talk about it.
VLADIMIR:To be dead is not enough for them.
ESTRAGON:It is not sufficient.
Silence.
VLADIMIR:They make a noise like feathers.
ESTRAGON:Like leaves.
VLADIMIR:Likes ashes.
ESTRAGON:Like leaves.
Long silence.
VLADIMIR:Say something!
ESTRAGON:I'm trying.
Long silence.
VLADIMIR:(in anguish). Say anything at all!
ESTRAGON:What do we do now?
VLADIMIR:Wait for Godot.