I'm so sorry that I didn't publish here my number 9 from my "all time favorite album" -list last sunday even when I had promised to do that. This will never ever happen again. From now on I will never let you down and I will take this blog very seriously. (You wish...) Anyway, here we go, finally...

 

9. In Lust We Trust

The Ark's "In Lust We Trust" is just a perfect album! I have no idea what more could you ask for an album, there's just about everything you need in this one record. Everytime I listen it I got this very strange feeling that I must run away, move to New York or London and become a gay man. We'll see, I might do that one day. (You just have to have some goals in your life and maybe this is mine)

I don't know what could be funnier or stranger than walking to work in cold, grey, rainy Finnish autumn morning and sing a song "2000 Light-years of Darkness". That song just doesn't belong to my normal life, to my rutines or my tiredness and that's exactly why I love it so much. I love the way that song takes me somewhere else, somewhere people are more beautiful and parties continue for days...

And the lyrics! I love Ola Salo's way to sing about quite hard and political things in very cheerful pop songs. Like in "Father of a son" where he sings about gay's rights to have children. "And you're totally fogged in your head/ If you were serious right now when you said/ "That it's because they will be bullied in school"/ Cause that means you let the bullies set the rules."

And I do am a feminist but I just love a song "Tired of being an object?" where Salo sings "Are you tired of being an object?/ Or are you just jealous that you ain't one/ Now you've realized that those objects/ Do all the kissing?" and continues "The only human right/ For which Im gonna fight/ Is everybody's right/ To sometime's feel irresistable".

Anyway, I think the most beautiful lyrics are from the song "Beauty is The Beast". I have so many times in this world felt that my ideas of beauty are very different that other people's ideas and I have had hard time to understand why people consider some things or some people to be beautiful when they are just boring into my eyes. And why those things that I love are strange or ugly in someone else's eyes? It makes me feel safe that I'm not the only one. I have at least beautiful Ola Salo on my side...

 


Beauty is The Beast

Men have made the a bombs
Men have made guns
The dreaded torture chambers
And the barbed wire fence
But of all the awful things
That men did invent
The idea of ideal beauty
Is worth the most contempt

And tell me whos a killer?
If we all consider
That emotions runs as deep as flesh
And the idea of ideals
That say what beauty is
Has sentenced so many to death

So if beauty is your friend
You'd better go deceive it
Beauty is the beast
You better believe it
You'r wasting all your life
If you'r trying to achieve it
Beauty is the beast
And you better believe it

Beauty is the beast, Beauty is the beast, Beauty is the beast

Now who can tell me how and where to begin
In a world who thinks of ugly as the cardinal sin
And constantly is talking about the beauty within
But locks up in the cellar everything that is grim

And tell me whos a killer?
If we all consider
That emotions runs as deep as flesh
And the idea of ideals
That say what beauty is
Has sentenced so many to death

Beauty is the beast
Beauty like a barbed wire fence
Beauty is the beast
Beauty like a barbed wire fence

So if beauty is your friend
You'd better go deceive it
Beauty is the beast
You better believe it
You'r wasting all your life
If you'r trying to achieve it
Beauty is the beast
And you better believe it