Today at work I read to one sweet little girl Mika Waltari's children's book "Kuningas jolla ei ollut sydäntä" (in English "The King Without a Heart") It tells a story about a King who was married to a very lovely Queen who unfortunately died. After her death King was so sad that he didn't eat or spoke to anyone for a long time. Until one day he called all the wise men from his kingdom to visit him and he said that they have to figure out how he can get away from his sorrow. He refused to be sad any longer. Wise men thought about it for a long time and then they told him that in this world no one with a heart can never escape sorrow. So King decided that he wants to get rid off his heart. Wise men made an operation and took a heart from his chest. They made an unbreakable case to King's heart and put that case to the cellar of the castle. After all this King didn't feel sorrow any longer but he didn't feel anything else either. He became very rich and powerful but he couldn't laugh or enjoy of anything anymore.

After this there was of course a princess and a prince and a very strong man and a donkey and all those that you can find from fairytales, but I wont tell you how the story ends.

But I will tell you how much I loved that book and that story! I'm pretty sure that everyone of you has been in a situation where your heart ache so much that you are ready to do anything to stop the pain. I know I have experienced that. And I know in that situation everyone has to face these same alternatives that King in this book. Do I want to put my heart into cellar or will I go on with this pain? This is why I love children's books so much. They are just childish fairytales and they deal with the biggest issues in the world.