One artist I really like is Spencer Tunick. He's the one who take photographs of nude people all around the world. Here and here you can see some examples. I think this, this and this are my favourite ones. And if you try hard you can actually see me in this picture. Tunick was taking photos in Finland in 2002 and of course I signed up to participate. It was really nice experience. First time in my life I was walking naked in the middle of Helsinki and hundreds of people were there with me. I think it was very purifying and reliefing moment in my life. There we were without clothes making art together! (And we are the nation that invented sauna. I wonder what it have felt like in other countries...)

I like the fact that Tunick doesn't explain his works too much. In some pictures he uses bodies like some element that has just come and taken the place. Bodies doesn't even look like people anymore. They are just kind of new grass growing from the earth. Some other pictures look like they are taken out from horror-movie. What has just happened? Why those dead bodies are laying around like that? And some of those pictures are just like ordinary beautiful portraits.

 

Most of all these pictures make me remember how beautiful we are. When you take away clothes, advertisement and overflowing sexuality that is usually only way to show naked people in our society, you can see something else, something vulnerable and pure. Aren't we just lovely?