I just came from silent candle demonstration which was arranged in front of Russian embassy because of Anna Politkovskaja. I'm glad that there were so many people, so many friends (almost 2000 people, they just said in news.) I'm still kind of confused about this murder but I try to say something. I need to say something. Even when I know everything sounds kind of stupid now.

During years I have met quite many human rights activists around the world. It's really hard to say who has been the most impressive. Actually it has been interesting to realise that those activists around the world have been so similar with each other. I have met tibetian nuns who had been prisoners of conscience for years, anti-death penalty -activists from USA and last autumn Eren Keskin, this beautiful and strong, brave woman, lawyer and human rights activist from Turkey.

I never met Anna Politkovskaja even when she visited here in Finland couple of times. But I know she was one of those I have met, one of those who are incredible brave and important people in this world. Sometimes it feels impossible to understand how she could continue her work despite all threatens and difficulties. Despite the danger to get killed. Maybe she tought like Eren Keskin who said that she continues her work, not dispite, but because of those threatens.

And on the other hand, of course. Anna Politkovskaja continued because she was a human. That's what we humans do, don't we? Do we?

I don't. I have all the possibilities to work in safe environment and there's so much I don't do. This is the question I have thought during years. I joined Amnesty International over 10 years ago and yes, there's pretty much I have done but still I continue to live with this feeling that I'm way too lazy. I don't want to believe that in this world we have couple of those brave and wise people who do all the work and rest of us can sit comfortable and admire them. Anna Politkovskaja was incredible but she wasn't any kind of superhuman. She didn't do something that no one else couldn't do. She just did something that no one else did. Maybe she wasn't stronger that others. Maybe she was just exactly like rest of us should be.

And finally they got her. She was known around the world but it didn't help. And I'm kind of out of words now. What can you say, really?