Couple of years ago I got a book from my mother. She said that she had found this very lovely children's book and if she remembered right it used to be one of my favourite ones when I was a little girl. Well, what can I say, she didn't remember right.

Of course I do remember this Lennart Hellsing's book "Ägget" ("Muna") and I also remember how much I was afraid of it back then. Actually it's a really great book now when I read it again as an adult. It tells a story about the Egg who is waiting to get born. The Egg has no idea what kind of creature it's going to be when it will hatch out. While waiting it tries to decide what it want to be when it's time to get born.

Do I want to have arms or wings? Should I take legs? How many eyes do I want to have? Maybe it's the best to have two eyes, because if I ever need eye-glasses it will make things easier, they always make glasses for persons with two eyes, don't they?

But there's also something else. The Egg sees nightmares. In it's nightmares it is a football or someone will eat it and for some reason or the other it will always get broken. And this was really the scary part of the book. Later when I talked with my big brother he remembered exactly the same thing. "Those nightmares! Do you remember the nightmares in that book?", he asked his voice shaking. "That book really scared the shit out of me back then", he said. I know.

And still, I do recommend it to all you adults out there. Do go and try to find it from library next to you. It's a really beautiful and philosophical book about life and our expectations and disappointments in this world. Who knows, maybe we all had our chance to decide what we wanted to be when we got here. Maybe we all have experienced that feeling, trying to decide if we want to have arms or wings or two or four legs...

And in that case, I have to admit, I'm a little bit disappointment with myself that afterall I didn't chose those wings.