From here I found a link to place where you can find ”1001 books you must read before you die”.

I have already read these:

33.Middlesex– Jeffrey Eugenides
49.Life of Pi – Yann Martel
54.White Teeth – Zadie Smith
63.The Blind Assassin – Margaret Atwood
73.As If I Am Not There – Slavenka Drakuli
89.The Hours – Michael Cunningham
92.The God of Small Things – Arundhati Roy
109.Alias Grace – Margaret Atwood
143.The Virgin Suicides – Jeffrey Eugenides
145.The Robber Bride – Margaret Atwood
147.The Secret History – Donna Tartt
157.Smilla’s Sense of Snow – Peter Høeg
165.Wild Swans – Jung Chang
196.A Prayer for Owen Meany – John Irving
200.Foucault’s Pendulum – Umberto Eco
210.Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency – Douglas Adams
219.The New York Trilogy – Paul Auster
242.The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
256.The Unbearable Lightness of Being – Milan Kundera
276.The House of the Spirits – Isabel Allende
293.The Name of the Rose – Umberto Eco
300.If On a Winter’s Night a Traveler – Italo Calvino
301.The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
303.The World According to Garp – John Irving
311.Delta of Venus – Anaïs Nin
312.The Shining – Stephen King
352.The Summer Book – Tove Jansson
399.One Hundred Years of Solitude - Gabriel García Márquez
436.One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest – Ken Kesey
467.Breakfast at Tiffany’s – Truman Capote
486.Doctor Zhivago – Boris Pasternak
494.The Lord of the Rings – J.R.R. Tolkien
529.The Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger
564.Animal Farm – George Orwell
574.The Little Prince – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
579.The Outsider – Albert Camus
608.Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
610.The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkien
691.The Castle – Franz Kafka
695.The Murder of Roger Ackroyd – Agatha Christie
698.Mrs. Dalloway – Virginia Woolf
701.The Trial – Franz Kafka
794.Dracula – Bram Stoker
809.The Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde
825.The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain
831.Treasure Island – Robert Louis Stevenson
837.The Brothers Karamazov – Fyodor Dostoevsky
840.Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
848.Around the World in Eighty Days – Jules Verne
863.Little Women – Louisa May Alcott
867.Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoevsky
868.Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll
873.Les Misérables – Victor Hugo
898.David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
904.Jane Eyre – Charlotte Brontë
938.Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen

I have read 56 so 945 to go... That's great! I have so many good books still waiting, it makes me feel really safe. I just realised that I haven't ever read any Hemingway's book. Or Herman Hesse or James Joyce either.

But maybe I still have to say this: I don't read because I should. I don't think reading is any kind of competition or obligation or something that you should do if you want to look smart. I read only because I enjoy it so much. I read because I have always done that. It's just a way to exist. I read because it's just something that I can always trust. Words and pages take care of me. I know how to be around them. When I'm reading I'm home. I don't love my sisters and brothers because I should. I don't actually know why I love them so much. They are just so great and beautiful and crazy and I feel safe around them. And that's exactly how I feel about books too.