I just read Henrik Ibsen's ”A Doll's house” (”Et dukkehjem”, ”Nukkekoti”). No, it wasn't that book that I just told my friend recommended to me, but it was another great book. I have seen it in Joensuun Ylioppilasteatteri (Joensuu's Student Theatre) many years ago but I didn't remember everything and I have to say that I really enjoyed reading it as a book! I believe that it has been quite a shock at the time it was published for the first time, but I also think that it is kind of play that is always important. So many of us are still living different kind of doll-lives without courage to be selfish and use our own brains.

Somehow it reminded me of another book, Anne Tyler's ”Ladder of years” (”Elämän tikapuilla”). That book tells a story about one mother who during perfectly happy summer holiday keeps walking along the beach and never comes back. She just feels right there and right then that she has to leave her family and start to live her own life. Funny (and sad) part is that when her family finally realise that she is missing and they try to tell police what she looked liked they can't remember. ”Mom was quite small, wasn't she? Or maybe tall? Her eyes were blue? Or were they brown?”

How many people like this we have around us? Who are those that we are taking for granted? And who are those who think same way about us? And more importantly, how can we live together as a family, as friends or lovers without making those same mistakes that people have done during hundreds of years? How can we show respect to each others and how can we be honest to ourselves even if we are living in a relationship? It is so sad if the only way to find your own voice is to walk away from your family. I don't believe that we can just trust that things have dramatically changed from Ibsen's time. I think that even today we have to be aware and remember to treat well each others and ourselves. We have to be aware and honest to ourselves and our needs. Like Nora says, that's our duty.

 

Helmer: To desert your home, your husband and your children! And
you don't consider what people will say!
Nora: I cannot consider that at all. I only know that it is
necessary for me.
Helmer: It's shocking. This is how you would neglect your most
sacred duties.
Nora: What do you consider my most sacred duties?
Helmer: Do I need to tell you that? Are they not your duties to
your husband and your children?
Nora: I have other duties just as sacred.
Helmer: That you have not. What duties could those be?
Nora: Duties to myself.
Helmer: Before all else, you are a wife and a mother.
Nora: I don't believe that any longer. I believe that before all
else I am a reasonable human being...