Sometimes it happens that I don't like the main character of the book at all. It doesn't necessarily mean that the book is not good. It can also mean that even when I hate the main character I love other persons in the book. "Anna Karenina" was exactly like that.

I read "Anna Karenina" maybe eight years ago and at that time I couldn't care less about this stupid woman. I had no sympathy for her at all. And this Vronsky! Why in the earth would someone fell in love with him? Ridiculos!

But I still loved the book. I loved it because, if I counted Anna and Vronsky out, all the rest of the characters were lovely! I liked very much of Anna's brother Stiva and I really, really loved Levin who was married with Kitty. Levin was such a great man, he should have been the main lover in the book. But what can you do? Great writers and the literature history doesn't always agree with me...

The book has also one of the greatest beginning sentences in history. Who remembers how it goes?