One blog that I like to read (even when it doesn't tell only books) is Teppo Moisio's Pohdiskeleva liftari. From there I found out that I have to also answer these questions because everyone else has already done it...

1. The book that changed my life

This is hard. I'm not sure if I want to tell you. Some important books are the ones that I don't even want to talk about. I don't want people know too much about me. But well, let's see... what is safe to confess... Peter Singer's "Animal Liberation" ("Oikeutta eläimille"). I read it when I was 15 years old and after that I became vegetarian.

2. The book that I have read more than once

There are very many of those but one of my favourite one is Diana Wynne Jones' "Fire and hemlock" ("Tuli ja myrkkykatko"). I read it first time when I was very young and I didn't understand anything about it. Still I loved the book. Then I read it again when I was older and I understood a little bit more and was still in love with it. When I read it 3rd time I was a teenager and I was very surprised when I realised that there was kind of sexual connection or romance between two main caracters. I hadn't realised that when I was younger even when I had already read the book two times. I had just tought that they were friends... Amazing to read book over and over again and find out these things. I also read that book once when I was an adult. I was really afraid that I might not love it this time and I became so happy when I realised that it really is a great book no matter how old you are when you read it. I still love the book! (D.W.J. is also writer of "Howl's moving castle" ("Liikkuva linna") Hayao Miyazaki's anime movie about the book was quite popular here in Finland.)


Suddenly Polly begins to remember... Halloween, nine years ago. She gatecrashed a funeral party at the big house. She met Tom Lynn for the first time. And he gave her the strange photograph of the hemlock flowers and the fire. But what has happened in the years between? Why has Polly erased Tom from her own mind and the rest of the worlds as well? How could she have forgotten him when he had meant so much to her? And how can she unlock her memory, before her quest becomes a matter of life or death...


3. The book that I would take with me to desert island

I couldn't take only one, but could take all the books from only one writer. I would either take all Tove Jansson's books or all Kirsi Kunnas' books.

4. The book that made me silly

Hmm... I did love Helen Fielding's "Bridget Jones's diary". And I love Jane Austin too.

5. The book that made me cry

Again, there are so many of them. I cry all the time while reading. But one that comes to my mind right now was Elina Hirvonen's "Että hän muistaisi saman". Do go and read it, it's really beautiful small book.  Also my mother told me that she couldn't read it on bus because she was crying so much all the time.

6. The book that I wish someone had written

I already wrote about this in one comment section but I would love to find some kind of "Encyclopedia of Colours" where someone would explain to me everything about colours. What light does in eye so that we can see colours? Culture-history of colours, how they have been used in art through history? Why buddhist munks wear orange clothes and muslims consider green as a sacred colour? etc etc... I already got some tips about books like that but I would like to hear more of them if someone of you know great books about colours.

7. The book that I wish it hadn't been written

There are many of them too, but once again I will say Paulo Coelho. I really don't need his books. Maybe I should organize some kind of "I hate Paulo Coelho"-club...

8. The book that I'm reading right now

You want to know them all? I'm always reading many books at the same time. Well at least these... Dag Solstad's "Roman 1987" (surprising Finnish name "Romaani 1987") Vilho V. Turunen's "Kieppi", Truman Capote's "In Cold Blood" ("Kylmäverisesti"), John Irving's "Until I find you" ("Kunnes löydän sinut"), F.M.Dostojevski's "Zapiski iz podpolja" ("Kellariloukko"), Herbjørg Wassmo's "Dinas bok" ("Dinan kirja"), Umberto Eco's "L'isola del giorno prima" ("Edellisen päivän saari") and Erlend Loe's "L" Feel free to call me schizophrenic, but I like to read them all at the same time...

(And also Petri Räisänen's "Astanga" which is a book about astanga-yoga which I have now been practising couple of months.)

9. The book that I'm going to read

Well, there are thousands of them but let's say only one... Nick Cave's "And the Ass Saw the Angel" ("Kun aasintamma näki herran enkelin").


I won't tell anyone to make their own lists like this because I know some of you hate these kind of lists, but if you do make one I would love to hear those books!