Ok, now I want you to tell me something. If you would have to choose one, who would be your favourite Roald Dahl character? Would you like  Matilda or BFG or maybe Willy Wonka? Or do you like those witches best? I think witches are great but my all time favourite Roald Dahl book is ”The Enormous Crocodile”. It tells a story about this very evil and quite stupid crocodile who just wants to eat everyone who comes to his way. In the end of the book a big elephant throws him to the sun where he burns to death. I got that book on my brother's birthday when I was very young. Propably so young that I had to get a present too even when it was my brother's party. I think that book was wonderful children's book because that crocodile was so incredible evil and he died so very painfully. I really loved the book!

Later I read also rest of the Dahl's children's books and I loved them all. I loved Matilda who read even more than I did and I loved the witches that ate children. I also loved the fact that sometimes even heros and good ones got it bad in the end. For example that little boy in ”The Witches”, at some point of that book he turns to a mouse and then he just keeps being a mouse even at the end of the book. And for the rest of his life he just stays as a mouse and he never ever turns to be a boy again. I liked that.

I have also read Dahl's books for adults and some of them I like a lot too. I always remember this one science fiction kind of short story about old couple who hated each others. This old man was always very mean and cruel to his wife. Then one day it happened that he died but his wife insisted to keep his brains alive. Doctors were able to rescue this man's brains and one eye. The wife went home with those brains in a bowl and started her revenge. These brains and this one poor eye couldn't escape anywhere. I don't remember what this angry wife did but propably she just did everything that man had hated. Maybe she put these brains to watch the most stupidest programmes from TV, maybe she destroyed his butterfly-collection in front of him and of course these brains just coudn't do anything about it. This old man couldn't shout or hit anymore, not even blink that one poor eye... It was something like that and that story really freaked me out. And it really makes me wonder... how many true stories there are like that? When one evil man has treated his wife badly all his life and then one day he paralyzes or something and wife gets a chance to revenge...

Well, anyway, right now I'm really on Roald Dahl-mood. I would love to bewitch one or two people into mouses and I would love to throw couple of people all the way to the sun... And please don't say that I should talk to doctor about this. I think I just need to go to the library.

(And by the way, did you know that Dahl's parents were from Norway?)

 


”I shall never have a bath again,” I said.
”Just don't have one too often,” my grandmother said. ”Once a month is quite enough for a sensible child.”