From here I heard that there's only 10 sundays left this year and that's why we should make a countdown with our top 10 all time favourite records. My first thought was a panic. I could never do that! It's ridiculous to even try. Only ten? Who can do that, really? We should have started earlier this years! I maybe could make my top 52 but that would be hard too. Argh!

My second thought was, ok, Reeta, calm down, there's always a possibility that maybe you are taking this a little bit too seriously... Just put there first ten records that come to your mind. So I will. Here we go...


10. Puddle Dive

i just wish i knew who you were
i wish you'd make yourself known
you probably don't realize i'm her
the woman you want to call home

First Ani Difranco album that I ever heard was "Puddle Dive" and I fell in love with it right away. Boy who borrowed me his album probably still don't know what he did. Ani D. is this lovely beautiful bisexual political activist folk-singer from USA. She has her own record company Righteous Babe Record and she has made almost 20 albums now even when she's still under 40 years old. Of course all those albums are not great ones but I still love almost all of them. One thing I really like about living alone is that I can listen my Ani records as much as I want and there's no one who could ask me to change my music. Ani's lyrics tell about feminism, racism, politics and all those cheerful and happy things but in very intelligent and funny way. She has also made some of the most beautiful and the saddest love songs of all time. I have saw her twice, in Roskilde 1997 and in Madrid 2001 and she's really great live artist. Love of my life, really.
 

my iq

when i was 4 years old they
tried to test my i.q.
they showed me this picture
of 3 oranges and a pear
they asked me which one
is different and does not
belong
they taught me different
is wrong
but when i was 13 years old
i woke up one morning
thighs covered in blood
like a war like a warning
that i live in a breakable
takable body
an ever-increasingly valuable
body
that a woman had come
in the night
to replace me
deface me
see...
my body is borrowed
yeah i got it on loan
for the time in between
my mom and some maggots
i don't need anyone to
hold me i can
hold my own
i got highways for stretch marks
see where i've grown
i sing sometimes
like my life is at stake
'cause you're only as loud
as the noises you make
i'm learning to laugh
as loud as i can listen
'cause silence is violence
in women and poor people
if more people were screaming
then i could relax
but a good brain ain't diddly
if you don't have the facts
we live in a breakable
takable world
an ever available possible
world
and we can make music
like we can make do
genius is in a backbeat
backseat to nothing
if you're dancing
especially something
stupid like i.q.
for every lie i unlearn
i learn something new
i sing sometimes for
the war that i fight
'cause every tool is a
weapon
if you hold it
right



(Number nine will be here next sunday...)