This may come as a surprise, but I don't buy books. There are many reasons for that, but biggest one is that I am allergic to dust that those books love so much. Breathing is nice and useful so I try not to get too much stuff around me. Everytime my bookshelf starts to be too full I go and take some of those books to second-hand bookstores or just give them to my friends. I have promised to myself not to buy another bookshelf. And even if I would like to I couldn't because my home is so small that there's no room for that. I have also seen what happens when you just can't stop buying books. Then you have bookshelves not just in livingroom and bedroom and study but also in hallway and kitchen and sauna. I know because I come from family like that... And if you ever have to move with all those books, well, it's quite... challenging (=fucking irritating). Besides, if I would buy all those books I read I wouldn't have money to pay my rent. And as I told you I love our libraries.

But on the other hand... of course I buy books, all the time. Especially poetry. Four books of poetry in your bookshelf will take the same place that only one novel so if you want as many books as possible in your one lonely bookshelf you will buy poetry. And poems I like to read again and again so it's good to own those books. Poems are like bandaid or soy-sauce, it's useful to have those things in your home all the time because you will never know when you need them.

Besides as you all know, no one actually ever buy poems. Poets are the poorest ones in our society. They are hungry and cold and drug-addicts and they will die young and miserably if I won't go and buy their books. So of course I will. This blog supports all those young people who have unrealistic dreams in their head.

And yes, I do buy novels too, of course, especially as presents to someone. Especially in autumn. I buy lots of books, read them first and then decide who will have which book as a Christmas present. And during autumn many of my friends have also time to read those books so sometimes book's final owner is maybe sixth person to read it.

And I have to admit that sometimes I buy nonfiction books too, especially from those second-hand bookshops. They are so great that it's dangerous to get in one because you will always buy something. For example yesterday I bought David C Korten 's book "Elämä kapitalismin jälkeen - Maailma yhtiövallan kaaduttua" ("The post-corporate world: life after capitalism"). It cost one euro. It's too big to my bookshelf and in pretty good condition too, so tell me, who would like to have it as a present after I have first read it myself?