This is too much! McDonald's starts to give Moomin-toys with HappyMeal! I don't know what to say... My heart is bleeding!

I have always loved Moomin-books more than anything. I love pretty much everything Tove Jansson has ever written, but Moomins are the ones that have followed me since I was a child.

When I was 14 years old angry teenager this Japanese Moomin-TV-series was extremely popular in Finland and all my sisters and brothers loved it. At that same time Moomins were all around Finland, Moomin-T-shirts and Moomin-towels, Moomin-tooth-brushes, Moomin-candy etc etc etc...

Me and my dear friend Raila wanted to save those poor Moomins from this spiritless commercial world. We wanted to tell the world that Moomins were not like that. Moomins were not just harmless toys, actually they were anarchistic and rebellious! We couldn't bear to stand still and watch what they did to Moomins. So, because we were young and innocent and we thought that this world can be changed, (and because we had a great sense of humor back then,) we decided to start an organisation called

KaAMu ("Kannata Alkuperäisiä Muumeja" = "Support Original Moomins")

We made leaflets where we copied pictures from original Moomin comics (we chose strips where Moomins drank wisky or had a fight with Fillyjonk) and next to them we wrote slogans like "Älä mene Muumilaaksoon – Anna niiden olla rauhassa!" (="Don't go to Moominvalley – Let them stay in peace!") and "Muumit eivät ole söpöjä, harmittomia ja pastellinvärisiä!" (="Moomins are not cute, harmless and pastel-coloured!") We made lists which products should be boycotted (Moomin-TV-series, Moomin-toys etc.) and which should be supported (original Moomin-books and Moomin-comics.)

We had such a nice time when we share those leaflets to people! Of course we gave them to our family-members (didn't work) and friends of our parents but we also gave them to young people in punk-conserts, strange people at streets and we even put them to unknown car's windscreens like tickets. All that work and still Moomins have started to co-operate with McDonald's... It' brakes my heart. (But who knows, if there wouldn't have been KaAMu, maybe all this have happend even earlier.)

KaAMu hasn't been very active recently but I still hate all this Moomin-trash that surround us. But I have to confess. I'm not as strict as I used to be. I do like these Moomin-cups, can't help it. Moomins in those cups are original ones, but I'm still not sure if KaAMu would approve them, propably not. What do you think Raila? (We never got any more members than just two of us...)

Anyway, I'm sure that KaAMu would have gone mad if we would have known that one day Moomins advertise McDonald's. So, all I can do is to recommend that all of you dear readers go and sign this petition. I propably start to organize a demostration...

 

(I actually just found some of those old KaAMu-leaflets so next time I borrow my sister's digicamera I will take some pictures of those and post them here too.)