Yes, I did it! I finally read the very last Harry Potter-book, ”The Deathly Hallows”! It took some time, because first I wanted to read once again all the other Potter-books so that I could be sure I remember everything. And I have to say I think it was the best way to do it. I really enjoyed to read them all, one after the other like a one big journey. And now, after spending couple of weeks inside my Potter-books (well, not mine, but my little brother's, thanks for borrowing them all!), now I feel so empty... Is it really over now? What do I do next? Is there still some purpose for my life left? I want to read more...

Anyway, I don't want to spoil anything for those of you who still haven't read the last Potter, so this time I will write part of my text by my invisible magic-ink. If you don't want to know too much about the book just read those parts of my text that you can see clearly, but if you have already read the book and want to know more, you can try to read my invisible text too. All you have to do is to keep the left button down and scroll down with your mouse and when the screen turns black my magic-text will appear. Let's try, like this:

(Congratulations! Now you know how to read magical texts, my friend!)


Yes, I really think it was the best way to read the books, one after the other. But it was also very easy way to realise how different those books are if you compare them with each others, some are so much better than the others and some are actually quite boring. And like everybody knows first books are really children's books but the last ones are so frightening and dramatic and sad that I wouldn't necessarily call them children's books anymore.

OK, what did I like about ”Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows” then?

(I loved it! I knew Severus Snape couldn't be a bad guy! He has been my favourite since the very first book and I knew there must have been a good reason why he killed Dumbledore! Oh, my lovely Snape, he was so much like all those strange boys who were in the middle-school at the same time with me, all those boys with greasy hair and angry looks, the poor ones that were teased at school. No wonder he wanted to join Voldemort for a while. Parents fighting at home and everything. My poor, poor Severus!

What I really like about J.K.Rowling's books is that people are not simply good or bad like they usually are in the fairytales. Goos ones can make huge mistakes and brave ones can turn out to be couwards and the other way around. Werewolfs can be good ones and your best friend can leave you when you need his help. And then he can come back. Yes, my little weak heart likes very much about the idea that everybody can have a second or third or fourth change. You can make a mistake and then try again. I know it's not a very original idea from Rowling, but I think it's a very good way to look at the world and it should be spread more in children's books.)


What I hate about Disney movies is that the bad ones always have to die. Bad ones have to die and vanish so that the good ones could live happily ever after. And it always happens in the same way: The Good Main Character is finghting with The Bad One and in the end he has a possibility to kill The Bad One but he doesn't. The Good One has mercy and he leaves The Bad One alive, but the minute he turns his back The Bad One attacks once again and dies by accidently, drops from the mountain or something. So, even when The Good Main Character doesn't kill The Bad One, he still has to die one way or the other. Just think about ”The Lion King” (bad lion dies after attacking one more time) or ”The Beauty and the Beast” (bad guy dies after attacking one more time...) There's never no hope for the bad ones in Disney's world but why would there be? There's no hope for the bad ones in Bush's world either, bad ones really have to die if we ask him...

(So, that's why  I really liked the idea that Malfoys were sitting there in the same table with all the others by the end of the book. I loved it that Draco didn't kill anyone after all. I somehow liked Draco too very much. I don't know, maybe I'm a weirdo but I did like Severus Snape and Draco Malfoy much more than for example Sirius Black. I think Black was quite irritating all the way, but of course I was shocked when he died in the fifth book. But why, oh why Lupin had to die too?! That was really tragic! I kind of knew that either Fred or George had to go but Lupin was really a surprise...

In general I think there was a little bit too much action in this last book. Where ever Harry went he was about to die. I think there could have been a little bit more of those peaceful moments where everybody just sit down and eat magical candys...

But I sure did like the ending! My favourite part of the whole book was of course that moment where Harry and Dumbledore are sitting in a place between life and death and just talk. It was a very beautiful and comforting scene and it made death to look like a very warm and safe place.)

My favourite sentences from the book are of course these ones:

   ( ”Tell me one last thing”, said Harry. ”Is this real? Or had this been happening inside my head?”
    Dumbledore beamed at him, and his voice sounded loud and strong in Harry's ears even though the bright mist was descending again, obscurring his figure.
    ”Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on the earth should that mean that it is not real?”)

That's pretty much what I think about life in general. I haven't ever learn to appreciate ”real” things more than the ones that are happening inside my head. Maybe that's why I have always loved to read, to sleep and dream, to play... Some of my childhood friends you could see and some of them were invisible but it didn't mean that those invisible ones weren't real to me. I remember very clearly how they looked and what kind of laugh they had.

When I was studying ontology one of my favourte philosophers was Karl Popper. He has this theory that we have three different states for existing. In the World 1 are physical objects and events, like people. World 2 is world of mental objects and events, and in the World 3 you can find ideas, art objects, social institutions and all the products of human mind. I really like that kind of thinking. Things and ideas, dreams and harry potters do exist, maybe in a little bit different way than me and you, but they still do exist in Popper's world 3.

And human mind is really something! Just imagine for a while that you are biting a lemon. Think how it feels in your mouth, how bitter it is... Did your feel that your mouth got wet? Just by thinking (not biting something ”for real”) you can get your body to react. Isn't that amazing? So, I really do think that thoughts we are having in our head are as important as the things that are happening around us ”for real”. And sometimes (for example in my case, I'm afraid), it might be that someone lives even too much inside her head and totally forgets the world outside...

But as we all know this world is full of those who doesn't appriciate litterature because it's not real. That sounds so strange to me. How can it not be real if it makes me laugh and cry and love and hope? And as we know, I have Dumbledore on my side with this one...

I'm sure Rowling have met quite many litterature-haters too because she writes:

(Of house-elves and children's tales, of love, loyalty and innocence, Voldemort knows and understands nothing. Nothing.That they all have a power beyond his own, a power beyond the reach of any magic, is a truth he has never grasped.)

I totally agree. The truth lies in children's tales.