Ok, right now I should be cleaning my bathroom so logically I try to find something else to do. Why not write here all night? No, no, just couples of words I promise...

 

Sometime ago I read Viljami Puustinen's book of 22-Pistepirkko. It's a great book about this great Finnish band who's 25th anniversary concert will be next week in Tavastia. The book is pretty much like band books should be. Band members and people around them tell openly and with many details the history of the band starting from Utajärvi. It's full of great pictures and explaining stories about different songs. And what I also really like is that there are so many fans telling their memories about the band. Graphic design is also really good looking and made by Jussi S. Karjalainen.

The most surprising thing about the book was to realise how terrible self-critical and perfectionist those men are. Sometimes while reading the book you just got angry because they were never satisfied about anything they were doing. Hey, you are talking about my favourite band there! Stop mocking them! I mean... yourselves. It was kind of sad thing to realise that some of my favourite songs were the ones that band members themselves weren't happy with.

I have really many memories about 22PP myself. I have seen them playing many times during years and some of those concerts have been really important ones in my life, for example Provinssirock 1996... I can't remember when I first heard 22PP's music but I must have been pretty young. I do remember that I was already big fan when I was 15 years old and I was in our school disco and tried to force dj to play Birdy. Finally I got him believe that it was a really hit song (I had the record with me of course and I offered that to him to play) but when in the middle of the song came that part where birds were singing everybody got angry and nobody wanted to hear my music any longer... Well, at least I know that's not going to happen next week. See you all in Tavastia!

 

22-Pistepirkko are living proof that the Northern Lights can fry a young man's brain.

 

Pistepirkko saa tehdä mitä ne haluaa. Sen takia ne onkin yksi makeimmista live-bändeistä. Ne ei nimittäin tee lavalla yhtään mitään. Ne näyttävät lavalla joskus ihan avohoitopotilailta, jotka on päästetty iltapäiväksi soittamaan festarin päälavalle. Se on ihan saatanan viihdyttävää.