Before my brains stopped to take any more new information I read Vendela Vida's "Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name". I admit it, only reason why I started to read this book was because it happens in Finland. It's not very often that American writer wants to tell a story that is placed in Finland and that's why I'm quite surprised that no one has translated this book into Finnish yet. In Finland we are always so proud if someone even knows we exist. (Right now I can think only John Irving, at least "Until I Find You" happens partly in Finland.)

So I didn't expect that much from the book, but actually it wasn't a bad story either. Not excellent, but definitely worth of reading. Unfortunately the beginning of the book is not the best part of it. In the beginning the main character is actually quite irritating woman. She is supposed to be around 30 years, but throught the whole book she acts more like someone who's sixteen. Anyway, the more you learn about this woman and her background, the more you start to like her. It's truely a very sad story and the book gets a lot better along the way.

"Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name" tells about Clarissa who's mother left her family when she was 14 years old. Fifteen years later Clarissa's father dies and she founds out that her father wasn't her father after all. So she travels to Finland trying to find her real father. Along the way she also tries to find out what happened to her mother and why did she left her. This is a journey of a woman who's very lonely and I suppose all the snow and coldness in the book is trying to symbolise that.

Here can you find an interview where auther herself tells more about the book.