Like it's not enough that in this world we have so many great books that I will never be able to read them all, now I have realised that I also start to forget the books that I have already read. For example Linn Ullman. I know as a fact that I have read her books "För du sovner" ("Ennen unta") and "Når jeg er hos deg" ("Kun olen luonasi") and I also remember that I liked them both very much but the awful truth is that I have no idea what those books are about. In other one of those books somebody dies. I think. And that's it.

Other example is Milan Kundera's fabulous "The unbeareble lightness of being" ("Olemisen sietämätön keveys"). All I can remember from that book is that it is fabulous. And I guess someone dies in that too. And then there is a car.

Argh! I can see how it goes... There will be a day when I get to this very fancy cocktail party with a room full of intelligent people and I meet someone who asks me:
"By the way, have you ever read Kundera's 'The unbeareble lightness of being'?"
And I say:
"Yes! And I loved it!"
"What particularly you loved in it?"
"Hmm... The car?"

Great... Actually that's really sad. I don't read just that I can spend couples of hours in some book. I read because I want people in those books to stay with me. I want to learn something I can carry with me for the rest of my life. And now I start to forget what I have read! I'm only 28! This can't start already!

Luckily there is something else that brings me comfort. I have realised the other thing too. I actually remember things that I don't know I remember. It has happened quite many times now that in some party I'm having a conversation and I say something very clever and then smile the rest of the evening being very proud of myself. That was very intelligent opinion indeed! Congratulations me! Then I go back to home and for some reason I start to read this old book of mine and there it is! My great opinion wasn't my own after all, it was straight from that book, word to word...

So... My memory is fading and my opinions are not my own. I propably have to stop going to parties or then I just have to start drinking more and learn how to talk about football.