In beginning of March Anita Konkka made in her blog a list of literature classics that she has tried to read but never finished. I won't make a list but I can tell you about one book:

F.M. Dostoevsky's "Letters From the Underworld" or "Notes from Underground" as they have also transleted it. (Suomeksi "Kirjoituksia kellarista" tai "Kellariloukko".) It's so strange, that I still haven't read that one book.

Dostoevsky is one of my all time favourite authors. I loved "Crime and Punishment" ("Rikos ja rangaistus") and I loved "Brothers Karamazov" ("Karamazovin veljekset") and those are very long books. "Letters From the Underworld", on the other hand, is very, very short book. Many people have told me that it's one of the best books they have ever read and I believe them but still... I don't know. I have started it maybe 15 times and something has always happend. Someone called, someone's cat got babies, I had to go to work or to school or to meet someone, volcanos started to eruption and world needed to be saved. And so it happened that I was never able to finish the book.

But I won't give up. I'm sure I will read it one day. Maybe I will have a one week holiday, shut TV and radio and  my mobile phone, buy lots of food and some good tea and not leave the house before the book is finished. That could be fun.

Why not?

Not just yet.