Raymond Carver is something that I just love. And not just me, I know many people who love him too. Just couple of weeks ago my brother was a little drunk and he started to lecture me how great and important Carver is. I tried to say that I do agree but he didn't listened, he was too busy trying to convince me that I really should read some Carver's books. Well, he's probably right, I really should read them... once again.

I love Carver's poems and I love his short stories. He really knows what he is doing. Even when he once said that he really doesn't know. He told that sometimes he just starts writing without any idea what's going to happen next or who the hell is the person he is writing about... But, well, in some way he still knows.

My mother loves Carver too. She told me once that this next poem is the one she wants to have in her obituary notice. Well, I hope it will take long time before I have to write that to her so I just put this poem here already. It's really beautiful.


Late Fragment

And did you get what
you wanted from this life, even so?
I did.
And what did you want?
To call myself beloved, to feel myself
beloved on the earth.