Here we go again! My blog is finally back from summer holiday and I have so many books I want to write about! Let's start with this one...

I wasn't sure what to expect from Aurdey Niffenegger's "The Time Traveler's Wife". The idea of the book sounded interesting and there was so much fuss aroud this book that I thought it might be either very good or very irritating. For some reason I was a little bit suspicious and it took quite a long time before I gave up and admited that I really really liked this book! It starts as a some kind of science-fiction-love-story but towards the end story grows and gets deeper and sadder. Now, when it's already couple of weeks since I read the book, story starts to change in my mind. Now I feel that actually the book wasn't so much science fiction after all and even when love story was a crucial part of the book it still wasn't the most important thing in this story.

Probably everybody already know what this book is about, but if there still happens to be someone who haven't hear about "The Time Traveler's Wife", it tells a story about Henry and Clare who are married. Clare met Henry first time when she was 6 years old and Henry was 36. Henry on the other hand met Clare first time when he was 28 years and Clare was 20. This is possible because Henry is a time traveler, he has a sickness, a little bit like epilepsy, that forces him to travel in time and space and he can't control it. If he watch TV, gets too stressed or drinks too much he gets this attack that makes him to time travel. So when he is 36 years old he is able to travel to his wife's childhood and get to know her and still when he is 28 and meets his wife for the first time he finds out that wife has already known him her whole life.

I don't want to tell you too much about the plot. I think I enjoyed the book more because I didn't know what was going to happen. So you just have to read it yourself.

But what I feel was the most interesting thing about the book was it's ability to talk about our mortality. Time travelers or not, we all have to get older, give up the things we love, get sick and weak and meet disappointments in this life. Eventually we are all going to die. As a time traveler you just can see it all clearer when you can visit your younger and more hopeful self who really doesn't know that much about life. The book wasn't hopeless but it did make me sad. And I think it put me into some kind of age-crisis again. I kind of hoped that I was done with those for a while, but no, here I am again, struggling with the fact that I'm getting older and need to even die one day. 

Tick tock, time is running...